Composer-in-residence: Joey Roukens

For the coming two seasons, a unique collaboration is taking place between composer

Joey Roukens and the Rubens Quartet.

This two-year residency, made possible by the Nederlands Fonds voor de PodiumKunsten (Dutch Foundation for Performing Arts), functions as a platform that allows artistic development and inspiration from two angles. New works are being created by the young composer for the Rubens Quartet, which will be presented onstage as world premieres.  These works will be introduced to the public from the perspective of Roukens, who will join the quartet onstage and participate in dialogue with the audience.  On October 1, 2011, the world premiere of "Visions at Sea" will take place, to mark the re-opening of the Scheepvaart Museum in Amsterdam.





Tour with marimbist Arjan Jongsma (December 2009):                  


Roukens : Earnest & Game (2007)

Tsintsadze en Komitas : Marimba Miniatures, arr. Roukens (folk music from Georgia and Armenia)


Roukens Presents” (January 2010):

Josquin des Prez :  "And David Sang" (2009), arr. Roukens

Beethoven : One of the Op. 18 quartets

Roukens : Earnest & Game (2007) 

In miniature”:

A short program without intermission featuring:

Miniatures for String Quartet by Joey Roukens, Sulkhan Tsinsadze, Anton Webern

and Soghomon Komitas

Seabound :

Dvořák: Quartet in F, Op. 96 “American”

Roukens : "Visions at Sea" (2011)

Jean Cras: Piano Quintet

(designed for the re-opening ceremony of the Scheepvaart Museum in Amsterdam)

Bookings: -  – tel: +31 (0)646335278